x Neighborhoods Plan Your Trip Things To Do Dine Stay
Beach Safety Flag
Perfect Awards COVID-19 Travel Updates Beach Safety Beach Access Meetings Weddings Store Events Travel Guides



About the Award

This annual hospitality award was established in 2003 by the Walton County Tourism Department (WCTD) to encourage and recognize excellence in hospitality service, travel/tourism marketing, advertising, promotion, and contributions to the local community.

The award honors the legacy of service embodied by the Van Ness Butler family who acquired the land now known as Grayton Beach in 1922. The Butler family built the Grayton Beach Hotel and through their family's passion, determination, and energy set the stage for the developing tourism industry.

Following his grandfather's legacy, Van Ness Butler, Jr. served as the first chairman of the Walton County TDC, as interim executive director for two years and on the Tourist Development Council for more than 13 years. This award also honors the Florida Tourism Hall of Fame inductees and pioneers of Walton County's hospitality and tourism industries.  

Nominees for the Van Ness Butler Jr., Hospitality Award are judged and awarded for their lifetime body of work, based on their initiative, and innovation in achieving organizational success and for their work with community businesses or organizations to enhance Walton County's local, national or international standing as a travel destination.

Please feel free to contact Lisa Foster, industry relations specialist, at Lisa@visitsouthwalton.com or (850) 333-2728 if you have any questions about the Van Ness Butler Jr. Hospitality Award program. 

Past Award Recipients

  • 2020: Jim Shirley
  • 2019: Tracy Louthain 
  • 2017: Lino Maldonado
  • 2016: Jennifer Steele
  • 2015: Mike Ragsdale
  • 2014: Jeanne Dailey
  • 2013: Malcolm Patterson
  • 2012: MC Davis
  • 2011: Michael Adkinson
  • 2010: Keith Howard
  • 2009: Walton County Commissioners (Scott Brannon, Sara Comander, Larry Jones, Cecilia Jones, Kenneth Pridgen)
  • 2008: Johnny Earles
  • 2007: Pat Potter
  • 2006: Robert Davis
  • 2005: Don McQuade
  • 2004: Joann Saucier
  • 2003: Van Ness Butler Jr.

Tag Us On Instagram